Student Government Loses and Gains President, Vice President

New Student Government President, Becca Larson

Coon Rapids Student Government president and vice president resigned mid-summer

By Mia Colic

Staff Writer

Members of  the Student Government hanging in their office.

PHOTO BY MIA COLIC                                                                     Members of the Student Government hanging in their office.

After the Coon Rapids Student Government received the news that its president and vice president quit, they had an internal emergency election Sept. 2 at its first club meeting.

Before fall semester even started, the government club was scrambling to figure out who could fulfill the roles of the two highest seat members.

Various issues obstructed Anis Abushagor and Andrew Schmitz, elected May 2015 in a campus-wide election, from fulfilling their roles of president and vice present.

“The end of the semester was approaching and I didn’t feel like worthy of being the president,” past president-elect, Anis Abushagor said. “It was stressful knowing I had such a big role to fill in, It was all that was on my mind.” Abushagor said he believed so many other students could fit the role of president better.

“The president could not fulfill his role in the club because he was overwhelmed with his classes he was taking and working at his job. He believed he could not fulfill the role of being president.” a former Student Government vice president and ARCC student, Theodore Gough, added

Andrew Schmitz said the reason he resigned as vice president was because he was formally a PSEO student in his junior year and this year, his senior year, he decided he did not want to continue doing PSEO at ARCC.

New Student Government President, Becca Larson

PHOTO BY MIA COLIC                                                                        New Student Government President Becca Larson

The new Student Government president and vice president are Becca Larson and Conner Swigart.

Student Government meets every Wednesday in B206 at 2 p.m.



Story updated 10/1/2015 at 12:30 p.m. A previous version of the story erroneously stated that Megan Evenson was the current Student Government vice president. Evenson is the current Director of Communications. 

About the Author

The Campus Eye Staff
The Campus Eye is published by students of the Cambridge and Coon Rapids campuses of Anoka-Ramsey Community College. Campus Eye articles in print and online represent the opinions of the writers and not the college or the student body.